Illinois State

Western_101

I remember a time when people in Peoria and also Chicago suburbs would almost universally react with the same statement to a question "where'd you go to school?" 

"Western"

"Oh, Western is really good at football". 

Obviously there are levels of broken hearts. I can't think of anyone that has given more of their time to this board than ST_Lawson.

I have some very negative and non constructive thoughts about everything that encompasses this university. 

Why do a break down on such a broken program?

If Western can muster a win it will be a Miracle. Oh yeah, I forgot, Go Western.
Western_101

I graduated in '97 for reference, I'm 48 years old.
ST_Lawson
Site Admin

Western_101 wrote: Wed Sep 06, 2023 8:17 pm I remember a time when people in Peoria and also Chicago suburbs would almost universally react with the same statement to a question "where'd you go to school?" 

"Western"

"Oh, Western is really good at football". 

Obviously there are levels of broken hearts. I can't think of anyone that has given more of their time to this board than ST_Lawson.

I have some very negative and non constructive thoughts about everything that encompasses this university. 

Why do a break down on such a broken program?

If Western can muster a win it will be a Miracle. Oh yeah, I forgot, Go Western.

Idk if I'd call it a "miracle"...Illinois State was roughly "middle of the pack" last year in the MVFC.
They went 6-5 overall, 4-4 in the conference. Lost to Wisconsin, SIU, NDSU, YSU, and SDSU; beat Valpo, EIU, UNI, USD, INSU, and us in OT. This year they opened the season by beating Dayton 41-0 (Dayton was halfway decent for a pioneer league team last year). The MVFC Defensive Player of the Year, LB Zeke Vandenburgh, is now a Miami Dolphin. They had one other player on the All-Conference first or second team last year (OL Drew Bones, who was also a senior).